EASY Freezer meals – slow cooker

So since freezer meals/ meal prepping has hit the internet like a crazy I thought what the heck why not join in on this frenzy and give it a go.

So I searched the internet for a good couple hours finding the perfect recipes that my family and I would enjoy. This is what I came up with:

beef stroganoff,  cranberry mustard pork roast, cilantro lime chicken with corn and black beans, teriyaki chicken, meatballs and tomato sauce, ginger peach chicken, beef stew.

I obviously didn’t try to this on the cheapest budget otherwise my go to curries and chilli would be on this list – I just went with what sounded delicious!

Getting all the ingredients as well as a huge bag of potatoes and some pasta/rice to go with some of these meals my bill came to 150 pounds. Each recipe has enough to feed us at least 2 dinners. So that’s at least 14 meals. Making each meal come in at about 10 pounds. However some of these recipes we will get 4 meals out of so the cost per meal will be much lower than 10 pounds.

IMG_2140.jpg

It took me 2 hours to do it all: First I labelled each freezer bag, chopped up the meat/veggies and put the ingredients from each recipe into the bag. It really wasn’t that much effort I was pleasantly surprised!!! At one point it did look a bit like a bomb had exploded in my kitchen.

IMG_2141.jpg Especially when one of my little helpers spilt soya sauce all down the front of the white cupboards. Not naming any names but it is someone who discovered she loves sucking on limes. (crazy kid)

IMG_2142.jpg

After I had finished I spent about 10 minutes playing tetris with my freezer trying to fit everything in. How I long for an American sized proper deep freeze. Although for the first time in years we bought ourselves a decent sized freezer and it makes me happier than a kid on Christmas morning.

IMG_2145.jpg

So I haven’t taste tested all the recipes yet as I only just did this on the weekend. Tonight we are having the ginger peach chicken. My house is smelling amazing and I can’t wait to try this dish! We had teriyaki chicken the last couple nights and that was a big hit. We put loads of pineapple in making the chicken really juicy and flavourful! Yummy!!!

As I’ve read others experiences with freezer meals I think the biggest problem is freezer frost. So make sure you seal your bags up good!!

With the babies due date quickly approaching I think we will stock up on some meals like this for the first month of having next to no sleep! If you have any tried and tested freeze ahead meals that you recommend please leave them in the comments!!

Here are the recipes I used just in case you fancy giving it a go:

Meatballs
+
Tomato Sauce

One bag frozen meatballs (homemade are great too!), one 28- ounce can crushed tomatoes, 2 teaspoons dried Italian seasoning

Cook time: 3-4 hours on HIGH

Ginger Peach Chicken

2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken thighs, 12-ounce bag of frozen peach slices, 1 sliced red onion, 2 tablespoons brown sugar, 2 tablespoons Tamari or soy sauce, 1 tablespoon freshly grated ginger, 2 teaspoons ground coriander

Cook time: 4-5 hours on HIGH

Vegetable Beef Stew

2 pounds stew meat, 1 diced onion, 2 sliced carrots, 1 sliced parsnip, 1 large rutabaga (peeled and cut into cubes), 1/2 cup red wine, 2 tablespoons beef stock base or 3 bouillon

cubes

Extra instructions: add 1 1/2 cups water to slow cooker

Cook time: 8-10 hours on LOW

Teriyaki Chicken

2 pounds chicken thighs, 1/2 cup soy sauce, 1/4 cup rice wine vinegar, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 can pineapple chunks

Cook time: 8 hours on LOW

Cranberry- Mustard Pork

One (3-4 pound) pork roast (loin, shoulder, butt), 2 cups fresh or frozen cranberries, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 tablespoon brown or Dijon mustard, 1 diced onion, 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice, zest and juice of 1 orange

Cook time: 8-10 hours on LOW

Beef Strogano

2 pounds stew meat, 1 pound sliced mushrooms, 1 diced onion, 1/2 cup red wine, 1 tablespoon beef stock paste (or 2 bouillon cubes)

Extra directions: Add 1 cup water to slow cooker before cooking. Stir in 1/2

cup sour cream before serving (do not add freeze with other ingredients or add at beginning of cooking time or it will curdle)

Cook time: 8 hours on LOW

Cilantro Lime Chicken with Corn and Black Beans

2 pounds boneless skinless chicken, thighs or breast (I recommend thighs, they don’t dry out as much in the slow cooker) 1 cup corn
1, 15-ounce can black beans
1 orange bell pepper, diced

1 yellow bell pepper, diced 1 onion, diced
Juice from 2 limes
2 tablespoons chili powder 1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cumin
1⁄2 teaspoon black pepper
2 tablespoons fresh chopped cilantro

Cook Time: 6- 8 hours on low or 5-6 hours on high

 

Butter Chicken

2 pounds boneless skinless chicken, thighs or breast, cut into bite-size pieces (I recommend thighs, they don’t dry out as much in the slow cooker)
1, 15-ounce can diced tomatoes
1, 15-ounce can coconut milk (I used full fat)

3 cloves garlic, minced
1 onion, diced
2 teaspoons Garam Marsala 1 teaspoon curry powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon pepper

Cook Time: 8 hours on low

Leave a Reply

